De Beers Forevermark diamonds are available from flawless to SI2 (Slightly Included) providing any inclusions do not interfere with the beauty of the diamond, as determined by our experts at a De Beers Group Institute of Diamonds.


Clarity measures the purity of the diamond; how free it is from tiny blemishes. These minute features, called inclusions, appeared when the diamond formed in the earth’s mantle as it crystallised under intense heat and pressure, and are mostly invisible to the naked eye. They determine the diamond’s unique fingerprint. The clarity grade a diamond is given is determined by the degree to which these natural features are visible at ten times magnification and the number, type, colour, size and position of the features in the diamond. Skin blemishes are surface features like scratches and nicks. Inclusions are naturally occurring features in the diamond such as tiny fissures or feathers and include crystals that can be diamond or other minerals. The rarest of rare diamonds, known as flawless, are those with no internal features and no external features or blemishes visible at ten times magnification. 

Because of their rarity they are valued more than those with minute or minor inclusions though these inclusions have no effect upon a diamond’s light performance or beauty. A lower grade- Slightly Included 2 or SI2 –still exhibits no blemishes or inclusions to the naked eye.  The differences between grades are so fine that even a jeweller may not be able to discern the top five clarities in diamonds mounted in jewellery.  An SI2 diamond of equal cut grade is as brilliant as a Flawless, though they differ greatly in value.  Choosing beauty as a value priority, VS2 and SI1 are popular choices. Diamonds equal in weight, colour and cut will vary greatly in price depending on their clarity features. The internationally accepted system of grading divides clarity into five distinct groups:

Flawless – Internally Flawless

The rarest of rare diamonds, known as Flawless (FL) diamonds, are those with no internal features and no external features or blemishes visible at ten times magnification. An Internally Flawless (IF) diamond will also have no internal features, but may exhibit a minute scratch left over from polishing.

Very Very Slight (VVS)

Very Very Slightly (VVS) included diamonds are those with minute inclusions so small that they are extremely difficult for even a skilled diamond grader to see at ten times magnification. A VVS1 diamond may have a single pinpoint, whereas a VVS2 may have a pinpoint or two and tiny feather as its internal features. 

Very Slight (VS)

Divided into VS1 and VS2, Very Slightly (VS) included diamonds have minor internal features deemed difficult for a skilled grader to detect at ten times magnification. A VS1 diamond may have a small crystal, a feather, a tiny cloud of inclusions, or a pinpoint or two whereas a VS2 diamond could have for example, a tiny cloud, a few small needles or a small included crystal. In extremely rare cases, very large diamonds, or in significantly transparent fancy shapes like emerald cuts, a VS inclusion may be just barely visible to the unaided eye.

Slightly Included (SI)

Divided into SI1 and SI2, Slightly Included (SI) diamonds are those with features that are obvious at ten times magnification. A typical SI diamond might have a cloud, a feather and an included crystal of another mineral. Neither the diamond's transparency nor face up appearance may be affected by these inclusions. In some rare cases, large diamonds, or transparent fancy cuts, an SI clarity feature may be just visible to the unaided eye. 

Included (I-1, I-2, I-3)

Divided in I-1, I-2 and I-3, included diamonds are those with features that are visible to the unaided eye and may even affect the durability of the diamond. Included diamond may have obvious features such as large contrasting crystals, heavy clouds and distinct cleavages. These diamonds are excluded from De Beers Forevermark. 



De Beers Forevermark inscribes diamonds from D to L as well as all fancy colours. In this scale, ‘colourless’ diamonds D, E, and F show so little difference that it takes an expert with sample diamonds of known grades to distinguish one from another.